RealModScene
t4z84

is my hard drive dying?

Hi,

The other week I noticed that it takes a while for my xbox 360 to load up.  It is running freestyle dash 3...

From when I turn on the on button, it takes about 10 seconds for the xbox 360 logo to display on the screen with the initial booting up sound, then another 15 seconds for the second booting up sound to occur and for the freestyle dash 3 logo to appear on the screen.

From memory, it was never that slow for the second booting up sound to occur and for freestyle dash to appear.. Is that normal?  Or is my Xbox's hard drive dying please?

Thanks in advance.

• Like 2

The only way to truly say your hdd is dying or not is to connect it to your computer and checking the S.M.A.R.T status of it

I'm new to this.. is that an easy thing to do?  Don't you need special things in order to connect it to a computer?

What else could be causing this to happen too please? Thanks.

I'm new to this.. is that an easy thing to do?  Don't you need special things in order to connect it to a computer?

What else could be causing this to happen too please? Thanks.

It depends on if it's a slim or phat...

Slim = standard SATA interface, same as your internal hdd's

Phat = Custom connector, but you can take it apart and plug the hdd directly to your computer as it's a standard HDD inside

Other causes for slowness is that the drive is getting full, just like with your computer...

It is a phat one... :(  

It isn't that full.. only has a few games on it.  I don't use it much.. it is slow when first turning it on and booting up.  What do you think please?

It is a phat one... :(  

It isn't that full.. only has a few games on it.  I don't use it much.. it is slow when first turning it on and booting up.  What do you think please?