RealModScene
StaticPulse

Anyone know how to embed sounds into skin?

I have a few sound wav's that I ripped off an old Mechwarrior II install disc that I'd eventually like to build a skin around. I'm really new to the scene and would like some information on where I can go to find tutorials on skinning and embedding sounds into skins.

Could someone steer me in the right direction?

sounds.rar

the simplest way I know is for FSD skins they will need to be converted to XMA files and then just replace the existing XMA files in the skin that are labeled for each action(scroll,enter, etc). or edit and add the sounds where you want them to play in a given scenes timeline in that scenes XUR file.

I have not even attempted to put sounds into Aurora skins (and In my testing it does not play video backgrounds in the skin either),,given that, and the fact it does not have action "sounds" by default I would have to assume the audio engine code(and xmv video code) is not implemented in the app as it is just excess "fat" that really adds nothing for functionality and of course uses valuable and limited resources that would be better utilized by adding something of actual function.

• Like 2

the simplest way I know is for FSD skins they will need to be converted to XMA files and then just replace the existing XMA files in the skin that are labeled for each action(scroll,enter, etc). or edit and add the sounds where you want them to play in a given scenes timeline in that scenes XUR file.

I have not even attempted to put sounds into Aurora skins (and In my testing it does not play video backgrounds in the skin either),,given that, and the fact it does not have action "sounds" by default I would have to assume the audio engine code(and xmv video code) is not implemented in the app as it is just excess "fat" that really adds nothing for functionality and of course uses valuable and limited resources that would be better utilized by adding something of actual function.