RealModScene
Sign in to follow this  
Kidsdontfloat

External HDD advice.

Hi there, I'm new to pretty much all of this. I bought a brand new Slim console and got it modded last week and now I'm trying to catch up on all the info in these forums, 

One of the things I've been unable to find enough info on was External HDD's and the best matches for my Xbox. So far I've gathered the following info.

- HDD can be no larger than 2TB
- HDD has to be Fat32. 
- HDD needs to draw power from someplace other than the Xbox. 
- HDD needs to be USB 2.0 compatible. 

I'm shopping for a 2TB hdd now. Is there anything else that I need to know? Does anyone have any suggestions, maybe drives you've used yourselves? 

This is what I'm currently looking at. Anyone see any issues with it? Thanks so much for your help!

http://www.amazon.com/Book-External-Drive-Storage-Backup/dp/B0041OSQBG/ref=sr_1_7?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1380437748&sr=1-7&keywords=External+HDD

The wd drive you have chosen will work just fine. I have used (and still got) one of these and they are good value for the money. If i remember correctly with this drive it self powers down after a certain amount of time (power save), which really is no issue if its constantly in use but there is a way to turn the power save of.

It comes with its own little gui where you can adjust the setting of the drive, all you have to do is turn the power save feature of and your good. When you power down your console the drive will also power down.

If you do not want to adjust the settings for the hdd then you can set dash launch to poll the drive every minute or two to keep it from entering power save mode.

All the apps for the wd drive come on the drive itself. Remember to make a backup of these apps before you format the drive the fat32, not really a necessity as I believe you could just download them from there website but it might save you a bit of hassle.